Friday, May 18, 2012

Hot News - England Squad List for Euro 2012

England manager, Roy Hodgson finally assigns 23 players to be brought to the Euro 2012. Surprisingly, Hodgson did not include the name of Rio Ferdinand to the team.

Rio Ferdinand's not election is expected due to his dispute with John Terry. In addition to Ferdinand, Hodgson also do not call Chris Smalling (Manchester United) and Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur). Both the young defender was injured. Hodgson also called two debutant, Alex-Oxlade Chamberlain (Arsenal) and John Ruddy (Norwich City). Steven Gerard was asked as a team captain.

Before competing in the Euro, the UK will play a friendly against Norway in Oslo (May 26) and host Belgium at Wembley (June 2). The Three Lions will start the first game in Group D against France in Donetsk, then against hosts Ukraine and Sweden. Against France and Ukraine, the UK cannot be confirmed Wayne Rooney is suspended two games.

The following is the official England squad as quoted from the official Uefa website.
England squad
Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City FC), Robert Green (West Ham United FC), John Ruddy (Norwich City FC).

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton FC), Gary Cahill (Chelsea FC), Ashley Cole (Chelsea FC), Glen Johnson (Liverpool FC), Phil Jones (Manchester United FC), Joleon Lescott (Manchester City FC), John Terry (Chelsea FC).

Midfielders: Gareth Barry (Manchester City FC), Stewart Downing (Liverpool FC), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool FC), Frank Lampard (Chelsea FC), James Milner (Manchester City FC), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal FC), Scott Parker (Tottenham Hotspur FC), Theo Walcott (Arsenal FC), Ashley Young (Manchester United FC).

Striker Andy Carroll (Liverpool FC), Jermain Defoe (Tottenham Hotspur FC), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United FC) *, Daniel Welbeck (Manchester United FC).

No comments:

Post a Comment